The Calendar and Events feature on the website has been disabled ×

We need this new melee power

btb7039

Can we please looki at getting into some type of energy based melee weapon, like a sword or claws, or a hammer. Ive been playing this game since 2007 and I feel like this should have been added years ago. The melee weapon playing right now lacks the excitement it use to have, need something to get away from lethal and smashing damage only.

Thank you

• Thumbs Up 2

21 hours ago, Rudra said:

There are energy melee weapons. They are selectable under the weapons of the melee weapon sets.

I think what the OP wants is a melee weapon-based equivalent to beam rifle - it's like arguing that AR should be enough, because you can pick some high tech weapon models for it.  You could even port over a form of the "disintegrate" effect to the set, and use the existing broadsword animations...

• Like 2

I understood the intent. However, since all the melee weapon sets including claws include energy weapons and the proposal only changes the damage type, I'm inclined to point out that the weapons already exist and can already be used. I get that players want more elemental weapon attacks in their set than the 3 sword attacks in fire and psionic melee or the 2 sword attacks in ice melee. However, it is my understanding that the fire, ice, magma, and energy weapons are in the existing weapon sets specifically so players can have characters using all weapon attacks with those elements. The damage happens in the background, so I don't understand the fixation on different damage types for the same set, especially with set enjoyability used as the reason. I'm not saying that is not a valid reason, just that except specifically for damage type, the proposal already exists because the player already can make a character wielding energy weapons with all the melee weapon sets.