Fire Melee/Rad Scrapper Build critique

TommyG

Good afternoon fellow CoHers!  I recently created a Fire/Rad scrapper and while it is still very low in level, I started working on a build for it.  Because I am pretty unfamiliar with how the character plays still (Its only level 6) I decided I would get a rough draft build going of what I think I would want at 50.  A lot of this may change as I play the character and get a better feel for the powerset.   This character is going to be for pretty general use.  TF's, Radio, Story Arcs that kind of stuff.  While I may run +4/x8 content with teams on this character it is not intended to be a farming character or anything.

I generally like characters with good survivability, but I also tend to lean into that too much sometimes.  Because its a scrapper I wanted to lean into the DPS side of things and slotted my primaries' accordingly (I think).  I also proc bombed Ground Zero and Radiation Therapy but I am still learning about really utilizing procs in powers and am not 100% sure I did it correctly.  I did spend quite a bit of focus trying to get S/L/M Defenses softcapped (or just shy of) and am worried that it may have cost more slots than it's worth.  Not only has it left my Psi resistance hole quite a bit larger but it caused me to do things like 5-slot Brawl to get that last little bit of defense.  I am curious if other /Rad users feel its better to sacrifice those defenses for better chances at Dam and Accuracy elsewhere.

In terms of recovery and regen I *think I am okay on those.  /Rad seems to have an abundance of ways to keep you going so I didn't focus too much on slotting for recovery although I did a little bit for end reduction just to keep EndUsage low.  I think this should be sustainable in combat without having to pop a ton of blues, but I am not great and determining that through mids so could be wrong.  If it is an issue I can use Radiation Therapy to top off.