New computer question

Nemeroff

Greetings All,

I started playing CoH early in 2005 and went all the way to the end.

My current PC was never meant to play games; won't run tequila.

I hear newer gaming PCs won't run "older games," but can I run CoH in 2019 on a brand new PC?

Edited by Nemeroff

"What are dominators... Much like a spider traps a bug, wraps it up, then starts chewing on it when it's completely unable to escape or defend itself."

What are your specs?  Or are you looking to get something new that will work? 

These days the biggest obstacle is Intel's onboard graphics.  So long as you have an okay video card the rest is just a matter of putting things in the right places.  But if your current machine doesn't have enough memory it's not going to be able to handle it.

For example, I can run it on my little cheapy HP Stream but it won't play for long until it crashes.

But yeah, throw us some more info and we'll see what we can do.

• Like 1

Current machine: Windows 7, 64 bit, integrated onboard GMA 3000, processor 2.4 Ghz. (yay!).  But after the tequila DL all I get is the theme music and solid black screen.

What I was looking at: Windows 10, Nvidia GTX 1660, 3.4 Ghz quad core, 16GB RAM, 250SSD 1TB HDD.  Plus it's a good "back to school" sale.  Basically I would hate to invest in something good but overpowered and obsolete for CoH.

Edited by Nemeroff

"What are dominators... Much like a spider traps a bug, wraps it up, then starts chewing on it when it's completely unable to escape or defend itself."