I Want to Talk About Buffing Mercs

Shazbotacus

TL;DR

Mercs damage and survivability are both horrible. Recharge seriously needs to go down on CC powers for them to be worth anything to Mercs survivability, and damage needs to go up for Soldiers and Commando so stuff actually dies in a timely manner. For a more in-depth rework, keep reading.

When City of Villains first came out, my penchant for soldier themed characters naturally lead me right to Mercs. Mercs/Traps, to be specific. Since that moment Mercs has been... fairly behind. Many consider it the worst of the lot for Mastermind primaries, though I won't at all refute that Ninjas needs help as well, possibly even Beasts though I'm not experienced with them at all. I would leave suggestions for fixing Ninjas and Beasts to those more knowledgeable, but I do know Mercs, and I have played Necromancy, Robotics, and especially Thugs to contrast Mercs and their overall strength against some of the best Masterminds have to offer. Before we really get going though, any talk about getting rid of brawl invariably steers into dealing with AI, so let's not worry about that. As nice as it would be, this is a topic for Masterminds as a whole rather than just this set. So, for this thread at least, let's get started on retraining the old Mercenaries, getting them back through boot camp if we gotta, and making them fighting fit, because they sure as heck ain't cutting it now.

What's wrong?