The Outer Worlds

WanderingAries

So, if anybody's wondered where I've been (in-game), this is one of the places lately.

I'm still learning the game mechanics and such as does anyone on their first play through. I can see the NV aspects loud and clear, but there's a few Fallout things they could have added. I find myself saving way too often because I'm trying to keep my nose the appearance of clean, but it's too easy to get caught. More to say, but this is a start for those who've already done so.

My Observations:

• Your health sucks at first and armor only partially helps when not 1:1
    • While zones may be level based (not sure yet), IDK HOW many times I was too easily overwhelmed by animal types in combat
    • Yes, you have stats, perks, etc that'll eventually help, but you'll get your butt kicked if you're not planning ahead and even then you may miss something
    • The game must assume that you're taking responsibility to Constantly check your surroundings, especially during a fight
    • This is while playing without a helper NPC
    • You Can heal during the fight and even Pause to heal during the fight, but your first play is going to be a rude awakening until you understand it
  • Unlike the Fallout games, there's no "easy" indicator that you're hidden when trying to say pick a lock
    • The game has a way to tell you, but it's one of those things where you generally can't pick the lock And know you're still hidden at the same time
    • Sometimes you Think you're hidden, but you're not and That is near impossible to tell quite often
    • Most of the above is likely a side effect of being spoiled as it's actually more realistic
  • Saving
    • Auto-Save is a thing and works for most situations
    • Save before you do ANYTHING that could change the perception others have of you if that's something you care about
    • Save before you venture anywhere new as it's easy to get into trouble/dead