Hybrid Slot, Assault Radial vs. Core

Cheli

This question is brought up constantly in help chat, and because a lot of people really don't seem to know how it works, I'm going to break it down. This is all stuff I read/absorbed from various places about the hybrid slot; it's not my research, and I'm not an expert, but I know how it works and I figured I would help people who are always asking this (and people who don't seem to understand it).

Core

Core is a stacking buff that gives you 15% damage, up to a maximum of 75% damage at 5 stacks. This is considered +dmg% (which you can track on your combat stats), so it's subject to the +dmg% cap. What this means is that when you're at 5 stacks you're doing your base damage times 1.75.

Radial

Radial adds 'a chance for your power to hit twice'. What it actually does is, when it procs, it does the power that activated it's damage again. However, it only does the base damage the power deals, because it uses your AT's 'temporary power damage' stat (which afaik is 1.00 for every AT).

Every AT has invisible stats that control how much damage their attacks do. This is why a blaster does more damage with blast powers than a defender, or a scrapper does more than a tanker. If you took a generic attack that dealt 100 damage, for example, you would take that base damage (100) and multiply it by your AT's damage scale. As an example, a scrapper's melee attack scale is 1.125, and they have a 10% chance to crit; brute melee attack damage scale is .750, significantly lower (to allow for the Fury mechanic to do its thing).

That means that if those two ATs use that 100 damage attack, the Scapper version will do ~112 damage and the Brute version will do 75 damage.

The thing is that the radial doublehit effect does not scale with your AT's damage scale. That means that when the doublehit procs, the attack will do -

Scrapper - 112 damage + 100 damage (doublehit)

Brute - 75 damage + 100 damage (doublehit)