SR/MA ... NO GET HITSU!!

Redlynne

When I started playing in Issue 2 (yes, I started that long ago) ... I didn't even have a computer of my own to play the game on.  I would go to the computer lab at the university I was attending, sit down in front of a computer and INSTALL and PATCH for over an hour before I could play the game.  Since the computer I was at would wipe itself after I logged out, I had to install and patch every single time I wanted to play.  After a few months of doing this, a friend of mine took pity on me and gave me a computer I could install City of Heroes onto in order to play from home (on 56k dialup, no less) so I didn't have to keep using school computers in order to play the game.

My first character was a Martial Arts/Super Reflexes Scrapper ... and in those days, only Scrappers could use Martial Arts, and only Scrappers had Super Reflexes.

Before Enhancement Dysfunction hit, I was able to create what I called a NO GET HITSU!! build that was softcapped versus Melee, Ranged and AoE ... and I loved my Scrapper!

And then Enhancement Dysfunction hit without advance notice and ... my pride and joy character was BROKEN.  The build I'd been playing that had been surviving at the defense softcap full time couldn't survive anymore.  Even Minions could smack me around without breaking a sweat because Enhancement Dysfunction RUINED MY CHARACTER build.  Full stop.

I was so disgusted with Cryptic, and so disillusioned by their response to over 90% of the feedback being vehemently negative to the changes brought about by Enhancement Dysfunction that the game servers CRASHED and couldn't be brought back up for THREE DAYS.  And yet despite this "can you hear me NOW!?!" hatred coming from the community, Cryptic resolutely kept the slap in the face of Enhancement Dysfunction in place to make room for the forthcoming Invention System ... that it took them over TWO YEARS to actually get working and push onto the live servers.