Is Time better than Radiation for a secondary?

Marshal Valor

I'm building a thugs mastermind but I wondered which of the two was better. Looking at the numbers in minds/pines it's hard to tell which is better so I figured I would ask and see if anyone has played both to give an opinion on the subject. I have little to no experience with those sets but am well versed when it comes to playing a mastermind.

Marshal Valor

Commander of the 1st Fist of Light

They're both broad-spectrum debuff sets with a few buffs thrown in for good measure and, frankly, they're both pretty decent. 

Time has a few clunky mechanics with the Delayed mechanic but is a very solid set all round, with a good mix of buffs, debuffs and a heal. It's hard to go wrong with time as it has a decent ToHit debuff aura, a heal and with defence added in later on. 

Rad is a very potent debuff set with one (fine) heal and one (great) buff. It strongly favours tightly clustered enemies and has a bit of a set up for the toggles, but once enemies are in the debuff field, they're not walking out again. I ran a something/rad MM for a bit but found it actually a bit overpowered for chomping through missions with. It also has a number of powers that are, frankly, very safe to skip over and is a very early blooming power set, so it's strong from the get go and lends itself well to power pools. Rad it notable for, I think, being able to use every single kind of debuff the game has. Rad/ defenders were known in the days before City of Villains as being able to solo pretty much anything given enough time. 

I'd say time is a set that needs to be played more actively, whereas rad basically has you use three debuff powers at the start of a fight and then you go into combat. 

They're both very strong sets. 

• Like 1
Doctor Fortune  Soulwright Mother Blight Brightwarden Storm Lantern Shadow Self Corona Borealis