Newish player looking for suggestions for first dominator

KnaveOfSwords

So, as the title says, I'm relatively new to the game, having previously played a bit of melee and ranged damage, mostly doing solo missions.  Dominators look interesting (some kind of crowd-control/damage hybrid?), but are well outside of my experience.  I'm looking for something that will have a decently gentle learning curve as I figure out how to dominator, and be fun to play 1-50 (likely still mostly doing missions solo).

Do folks here have any suggestions on primaries and/or secondaries that are a good fit for this?  Not too concerned if it's not the most powerful level 50+ toon.

Plant/ By level 8 you've got the signature power, seeds of confusion, which is up every mob out of the box. Adding carrion creepers at 26 with permadom levels of recharge just makes it silly. The secondary is up to you, basically just flavor. Mine's plant/savage which is a blast, if a bit complicated. 

51 minutes ago, Mr. Vee said:

Plant/ By level 8 you've got the signature power, seeds of confusion, which is up every mob out of the box. Adding carrion creepers at 26 with permadom levels of recharge just makes it silly. The secondary is up to you, basically just flavor. Mine's plant/savage which is a blast, if a bit complicated. 

Thanks.  Re: /savage, complicated how?  As in I should probably avoid savage for my first attempt?

10 hours ago, KnaveOfSwords said:

Thanks.  Re: /savage, complicated how?  As in I should probably avoid savage for my first attempt?

I just meant complicated in that you're popping from range to melee a lot. Feral charge is one of the better powers in the game but you'll also have to pop back out from melee to use cones (and so you can feral charge back in).

Because some Control sets do more damage than others, and Dominators' Secondary Set deals damage, as opposed to the Controllers, some sets are better off on Dominators and some on Controllers.