Design Formulas

Leandro

This is a reference to take into account when you suggest new powersets or changes to existing ones. While these formulas can be broken with enough justification, they should definitely be followed as a starting point in order to make sure your power "feels right" when compared to other powers in COH.

Note: I am not a powers developer and I have no idea what most of these numbers mean in a practical sense, I am just posting them by request.

Standard Damage Formula

(0.2*(0.8*Recharge+1.8)) / (Standard Area Factor)

• Standard Area Factor will equal 1 on single target attacks (i.e., Radius and Arc are 0)

Standard Area Factor

Spheres: (1+(Radius*0.15))

Cones: ((1+(Radius*0.15))-(((Radius/6)*0.011)/5)*(360-Arc))

Standard Attack Endurance Cost

(Standard Damage Formula)*EndConstraint*ATConstraint*10

EndConstraint = 0.65

ATConstraint =

0.8 for most ATs primary and secondary power pools,

1.0 for Master Mind primary and secondary, and all other non-primary/secondary pools.

PvP Damage Formula

((CastTime+InterruptTime)*0.7+Recharge*0.04+0.4)/AreaFactor

PvP Damage Modifiers

AT Melee Ranged
Tank 1.04 0.83
Scrapper 1.32 0.75*
Blaster 1.26 1.82
Defender 0.88 1.33
Controller 0.95 1.21
Brute 1.04 0.89*
Stalker 1.04 0.80*
Corruptor 1.04 1.33
Dominator 1.51 1.75
Mastermind 0.85 1.09
Kheldian 1.05 1.26
Soldier 1.04 1.33
Sentinel 1.22 1.37

*Keep in mind Epic Attacks for Melee ATs tend to always use Melee damage modifiers, but pool powers like Sorcery's Arcane Bolt always use ranged modifiers.

Edited by Faultline
Updated with info from Vanden.
  • Like 1

• 3 weeks later

Regarding the first formula, I think it should have "/AreaFactor" at the end, shouldn't it?