Tuatha = men

ooGloryoo

I'm sorry about the bad screen shot, I'm not very good at them...

I was running my lil squishy blaster/time lady about Croat., doing missions and I gotta kill all the Tuatha. I happened to notice they all have giant leaves dangling in one area - all Tuatha are men?

2020-01-06 (1).png

2020-01-06.png

• Haha 1

1 hour ago, oldskool said:

Sure, why not?

I attribute everything there to artistic license since the Tuatha were not hideous man-beasts in Irish folklore.  For that matter, the Fir Bolg weren't twig-people with pumpkin heads either. 

To be fair, in the CoH lore both were cursed by the Red Caps into their present forms.

The funny thing to me is that I came in here expecting a discussion on etymology because the word Tuatha actually means “men/people”... literally “The Men/People of the gods of Danu (Danu probably derives from the PIE “flowing waters” denoting gods who came from overseas... i.e. foreign gods brought by settlers arriving in Ireland).

Likewise, Fir Bolg translates to “Men of Bags” and describes a group of migrants/settlers who came to Ireland and ruled it before the Tuatha de Danann arrived and displaced them (Irish myth is essentially telling the story of waves of immigrants displacing the former occupants of the Isles).

• Like 2
  • Thanks 2

1 hour ago, Chris24601 said:

The funny thing to me is that I came in here expecting a discussion on etymology because the word Tuatha actually means “men/people”... literally “The Men/People of the gods of Danu (Danu probably derives from the PIE “flowing waters” denoting gods who came from overseas... i.e. foreign gods brought by settlers arriving in Ireland).

Not quite.  Fir means men, like literally that's the translation.