New(ish) player - Tanker

Sickraspy

Hello! 

I'm new to Homecoming, i played CoH when it was live with a few lvl 50's. 

I'm trying to decide what to commit to for my first character in this. 

I'd like to be a tanker and want to make sure i'm at least viable for endgame content if i decided to be less than casual. 

Are there any powersets that i should AVOID? I'm not looking to Min/Max, mostly just want to avoid anything really subpar. 

Thanks!

(i haven't posted here yet and i'm somewhat new so let me know if this isn't the appropriate venue or question.)

You will be spoiled for choice as Tankers are in a good place. Radiation Armor is top defensive goodness with Radiation Therapy holding you up from level 16 to level 99. Fire Armor is your most offensive oriented armor and it will blow holes on things to a point you'll forget you are not a damage oriented character.

There is no particular set that I would say is bad though with the caveat that some are slow to start or need IOs to get up to snuff. Granite Armor is a bit obsolete nowadays with the built in downsides not making it a fun set to play.

I may be biased but my altitis has been cured by my Fire Armor/Claws which I've posted on these boards.ots of damage and starting early unlike, say, Super-Strength, whose trademark powers only kick in at 28 and 38.

Edited by Sovera

Hi Sickraspy,

Welcome back! My suggestions would be Rad/Fire, Rad/Rad and then any other combo (I'm a Rad and Fiery Melee fan, so I might be biased). Aside for that, what sets did you play on live and did you like/enjoy them?

Nothing warms your opponent like Fiery Melee.

Tanker Tuesday and Tanker Tuesday Tour Info:

1st Tuesday-Excelsior

2nd Tuesday-Torchbearer

3rd Tuesday- Everlasting

4th Tuesday- Indomitable

Special weekend run for Reunion/Europe

1 hour ago, Warboss said:

Hi Sickraspy,