Pro/Con of Dom vs Controller

Mashugana

How does a dome play differently from a controller while leveling, on teams, solo, and end game content?

I love controllers - and when they added the damage boost for held targets I loved that controllers could solo...slowly.

But now that Doms are available to me I wonder if I would like Doms better.  I am not asking if Doms or Controllers are BETTER.  I am sure both are fun and I'll play both.  But I wonder - what do you like about Doms vs Controllers? What do Doms not do as well?

Thanks for any guidance as I try Doms for the first time 🙂

PS: I have the same question about Defenders vs Corruptors if anyone has an opinion on the pro/con difference between them I'd love to know that too 🙂

I am not a dom expert by any means, but after reading these forums and reddit about them, they have become one of my favorite AT's to play. A dom is not really like a controller at all (other than the fact that both AT's have control primary sets). While controller secondaries focus on buffing/debuffing/etc., doms have assault secondaries, making them play more like a blaster or blapper. They're also one of the few AT's where you actually want to focus more on your secondary than your primary. Meaning, you don't want to spam your control powers like a troller because all your real damage comes from your secondary anyway. You want to do just enough to lock mobs down and then start blasting away at them with your secondary.

I'm sure the better dom experts will come to better expand upon what I said, but hopefully that gives you a rough idea of the differences.