Making a Captain America style hero?

Mythus54

I don't mean a full ripoff, I'm making an original character, but I do love the whole "melee with fists and a shield" idea. I know DCUO even made it a dedicated combat style if you paid extra for it.

So I know the shield bit can be a secondary power for a scrapper, but I can't decide on Martial Arts or Street Justice for my melee...

As long as the costume is different I say go for it. Nothing wrong in picking those powers.

I know! I just can't decide lol

I'm a total noob to CoX and don't really know the pros/cons. I'm just going off idea right now.

I've not rolled a lot of melee characters and I'm sure someone will come along with the perfect combination, but it looks to me that a Street Justice/Shield Defense Brute would work well as a Cap-type character. There's also Super Strength for a primary.

I suggest loading up Titan Icon and checking out the powers, that way you don't have to be concerned with server status. You can also play with the costume to your hearts content.

Dislike certain sounds? Silence/Modify specific sounds. Looking for modified whole powerset sfx?

Check out Michiyo's modder or Solerverse's thread.  Got a punny character? You should share it.

I'd suggest Street Justice. IIRC, martial arts is mostly kicks.

MA does offer punching alt-animations for all attacks except for two, Thunder Kick (one of the 1st attack options) and Crane Kick (2nd to last). Although, Cap did throw a few kicks as well.

Dislike certain sounds? Silence/Modify specific sounds. Looking for modified whole powerset sfx?

Check out Michiyo's modder or Solerverse's thread.  Got a punny character? You should share it.

I've not rolled a lot of melee characters and I'm sure someone will come along with the perfect combination, but it looks to me that a Street Justice/Shield Defense Brute would work well as a Cap-type character. There's also Super Strength for a primary.