Thoughts on Energy Blast on Defenders

oedipus_tex

I'm no expert, especially in the i25 rules. Energy Blast was long regarded as one of the dead worst Defender blast sets due to a combo of low base Defender damage and the scatter caused by the powers. 

Overall, Energy Blast has fast animating attacks and two decent (if late coming) AoEs. 

A couple of questions:

1. Is there really such a thing as a 'knockback tax'?

I ask this because in discussions of the new proc mechanics several have mentioned that E Blast has to spend a slot to convert kb to kd. But, I question whether this tax is 'real.' It's only really the AoEs that require kb to kd procs. Knockback in single target powers isn't a huge issue. The rate of knockback in Energy's AoE's is:

• Energy Torrent: 60%
  • Explosive Blast: 50%
  • Nova: 100%

That rate of mitigation seems extremely effective to me. It does mean Energy Blast will do lower damage in the end, but it's also significantly safer. Other sets can add knockdown to powers with a proc, but I don't think they can sustain the constant barrage of AoE knockdown that Energy Blast can. 

2. No desirable secondary effect.

This part if hard to argue with: E Blast doesn't benefit much from Defender's superior values. In fact, the value it adds (extra knockback distance!) is generally regarded as undesirable.

However, I question how much this matters in the current meta. Of the available sets, only a few offer secondary effects that benefit from Defender bonuses:

• Sonic - - Resist
  • Radiation - -Defense (valued almost exclusively at high levels for -resist procs, which dont vary by AT)
  • Beam Gun - See above
  • Dual Pistols - See above
  • Psi/Ice - Other than the Holds, just -Recharge
  • Dark - -ToHit, arguably among the most useful
  • Water - Mix, generally not benefitting the Defender more than other ATs
  • Electric Blast - Endurance drain doesn't adjust by AT, so virtually no differences