Are Defenders Worth It?

Back on live I played a Rad/Rad Defender and I loved it.  It was one of the best characters I ever played in any MMO.  I had decent DPS (less than a blaster, but still contributing), I didn't feel overly squishy in the rare case that enemies managed to hit me through my Radiation Infection.  I wasn't even using Choking Cloud back then because I thought it was dumb.  Admittedly, though, I didn't play very much at level-cap.

Since I started playing again, I feel so much weaker.  My DPS is abysmal, if enemies hit me, I fold like a tower of cards.  I basically have no choice *but* to use Choking Cloud.  And that's just solo.  In teams I feel 100% useless.  My damage is non-existent, my debuffs don't seem to matter at all, and if I try to get in to use Choking Cloud, AOE puts me face down in the dirt.

And last night some very experienced level 50 let me tag along with him.  He didn't need me there at all.  He was 100% fine soloing everything.  I appreciate his charity in letting me soak up XP, but damn did it make me feel useless and start wondering what's the point of playing a Defender?  ...and then a Blaster joined and started pulling (not sure what power set, he did some move where he charged in and did beaucoup damage) and he'd wipe out the minions instantly, and it looked like whatever wasn't killed outright was mezzed for several seconds.  I don't think I saw him ever fall below 75% HP.

So yeah.  What's the point of playing the buffing/debuffing class when no one needs your buffs or debuffs...

with a rad you’re not going to have the same tangible impact like you do with a set like kin, cold, thermal, nature etc where you can visually see the effects and see the numbers change

debuffs are still worthwhile, and good for applying damage procs into your powers. personal buffs don’t change the damage of a proc, but a 30% debuff increases its damage by 30%!