Identity Crisis

Rathulfr

TL;DR:  Who is the real Rathstar?  My OG incarnation re-created from Retail, or the better HC meta-build versions?  Anyone else experiencing a similar conundrum?

I started playing City of Heroes in 2004, when Issue 2 went live.  My first and main character was an Energy² Blaster named Rathstar, which I played to 50+3 and until the servers went dark in November 2012.  Yes, I had plenty of alts, too.  But Rathstar was (still is) nearest and dearest to my heart: he's the "real" me, if you know what I mean (and I know that many of you feel the same way about your characters).

When Homecoming came online, Rathstar was the first character I re-created: an Energy² Blaster.  He was on Bree, then again on Torchbearer, then moved to Indomitable, and now he resides on Everlasting.  But he only made it to level 11 when I abandoned him.  I was distracted by the new Blaster secondaries, and then by Sentinels, so he languished on the character select screen for months.

Rathstar was re-imagined several times during those months, mostly as various forms of Sentinel, because the Sentinel felt like what I originally wanted for the character, even back in retail.  Iron Man was my favorite comic book as a kid, and he's the inspiration for Rathstar.  On retail, an Energy² Blaster was the closest I could get to Iron Man.  On HC, an Energy Sentinel was even closer.  After playing several different builds, Rathstar the Energy/Willpower Sentinel became my main.  I got him to 50+3 T4 (not via AE, thank you), then accrued accolades and veteran levels.  But even so, something was still missing: he just doesn't deal enough damage (I thought that was the missing piece).