What is "back seating"?

(a bit of context right up front. I've been playing games for 50+ years, been playing video games for 40+ years, only started watching streamers in the past -5 years)

What is "back seating"? It seems intuitive to me. I think it means if someone is playing a game and someone else starts telling them things like "go turn over the third rock, it will reveal a hidden quest that rewards you the best armor ever created in a video game." or in a story driven game saying something like "don't trust him, he is going to betray you to the evil dragon lord. Go pay off that dwarf instead because he is secretly your benefactor."

I don't consider it back seating if a person reminds the player of something the game has already explained. Like "game explained you should rest at the sparkle dot so you can do any leveling up" or "press X to jump" (said after the tutorial). So, what's the consensus? Is it considered back seating to remind a player of something the game has already explained?

2 minutes ago, Snarky said:

There are so many interesting and inappropriate things to say.  So little time.

That's never stopped you before!

• Haha 4
  • Pizza (Pineapple) 1

There's a fine line between a numerator and a denominator but only a fraction of people understand that.

10 minutes ago, Snarky said:

Well? Like what? I guess you are itching to make a joke (or just itching, who can say) but I am sincere, I really want to know, both an answer to my query as well as all the nasty (or sweet?) things you really want to say...

4 minutes ago, Boudicia.Dark said:

Well? Like what? I guess you are itching to make a joke (or just itching, who can say) but I am sincere, I really want to know, both an answer to my query as well as all the nasty (or sweet?) things you really want to say...

You get one.  Which hopefully will not get me a nasty note from a GM.

*clears throat

"Is this related to pegging?"

and a bonus one in German...

"Das ist Hundestellung?"