Enemies suddenly placating me

RikOz

This is a bit of a puzzle. I've asked, in-game, when certain Bane Spiders gained the ability to Placate my characters, and some players are telling me they've always done that.

Except, I've been playing on Homecoming for two years now, and this literally never happened to me until about a month ago, shortly after the i27 patch dropped.

Granted, this is only happening to my level 50 characters, and I only got my 5th and 6th alts to 50 about a month ago. But since I play solo exclusively, I run a whole lot of alignment/morality missions to earn merits, so I've run the level 40-50 tip missions many, many, many times on level 50 characters. These include several missions against Arachnos, so I've run into those high-level Bane Spiders plenty of times, and as I said, my first Placate only happened about a month ago. The first time was on one of my fresh 50s, who hadn't unlocked her Alpha yet, but the most recent was on my main, a T3 incarnate running missions at +3.

Edited by RikOz

*shrug* It happens? You may not have noticed if you were using placed AOEs or had other targets to attack, as well - not sure what makes them choose to placate.

Primarily on Everlasting. Squid afficionado. Former creator of Copypastas. General smartalec.

I tried to combine Circle and DE, but all I got were garden variety evil mages.

28 minutes ago, MTeague said:

Leadership / Assault makes you resistant to placate. Do you normally take that on your characters who face off against Bane Spiders?

I've recently started taking it on newer characters, but my main (fire/fire blaster) has never had it. In any case, I only took the power for the +ToHit. I've typically disregarded any Confuse or Placate resistance as inconsequential; having never actually seen an NPC use either of those on me, I assumed they were pretty much limited to PvP or team content.