Total Noob question : how does one do damage as a Controller ?

ZEdglord

Hi all !

I was wondering how does one actually get anything done solo as a Controller. I know Illusion has acceptable damage (until you get Phantom Army then it becomes hilarious), but outside of Illu, how does one even do damage ? Like, you either have buffs or debuffs, which are great ! But you can't get anything done like that can you ?

28 minutes ago, SeraphimKensai said:

Debuffs, procs, powers that have synergy.

Hell you could even roll with a /kin controller and ride the damage cap for controllers.

I get it, Controller is great, but how do you DO damage ? None of the skills even do damage past the first two ! That's what I'm curious about.

It's going to depend a lot on the sets involved.

Gravity is probably the smoothest ride. Lift does extremely good damage for a Controller. Propel does decent, not outstanding, damage. I think level 2 Gravity Controllers may have the highest single target DPA of any character in that level range just because of how hard Lift hits with Containment.

Fire and Mind Controllers both have very fast casting single target holds that can be procced out for good damage in the ~250 DPA range.

Plant Control's Roots power does double the damage of the other AoE immobilizes. It's actually as good as a Defender's Explosive Blast, but with double the area of effect and half the recharge.  Carrion Creepers is a proc monster that delivers substantial damage.

Fire Control's Hot Feet does about the same damage of a free Fireball cast every 10 seconds. 

Dark Control takes -ToHit sets, which makes all of the powers very procc'able.

On the secondary side, a few sets stand out for Damage. Kinetics, of course. Also Trick Arrow and Storm. More subtly, Nature provides a big +Damage boost. Cold Domination can proc out Infrigidate.