New Tank

callador0630

I'm new to the game, and I've made a few tanks that I got up to level 10 to 12.  I need a little help with some ideas.  I'm looking for something that can be very sturdy end game.  I like to tank in a variety of games.  I will be coming in with no influence, etc. so Ideally it would be nice to have something tough out of the box.  Then I can slowly tweak the character out as I get more influence.   I'm assuming I can do that just by continuing to tank or maybe farm.  I've played games like WoW, so I'm not too sure how it goes.

So here is the conundrum.  I've backed by missions down to -1 for level, and depending on the character I either kept it as +1 for number of heroes or +2.  Nothing I've made seems all that tanky at low levels.  I also feel like I'm not doing that much damage.  I pop inspirations and get through it, but it feels underwhelming.  So being new and leveling with no influence, I'm also looking for something that can solo well enough to level up.  

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks! 🙂

Nothing feels super sturdy at level 10-12. You don't have the slots, powers or enhancements at that point to feel powerful.

Any particular reason you want to solo 1-50? Tankers can do it, as can any other AT in the game, but you might have a smoother solo 1-50 experience on a different AT.  Teaming would allow you to get buffs, tank for those buffers and watch more offensive focused AT's blow things up while you're holding agro.

At your level getting into a Posi 1 and Posi 2 would be a great experience and net you a few levels of XP.  Once you get to level 22 you can start slotting generic IO's and be at a power level that gives you a decent idea of what your sets are capable of.

As for what is sturdy at end game? Any of the armor sets can be made tough enough, you should check out the Tank Gods thread for some ideas.