Theorycrafting pets, damage and procs

BGSacho

In an effort to squeeze out more DPS out of pets, considering the limited effective slotting options, I've been experimenting with adding damage procs. Disclaimer: I'm fairly new to the game(this is my first server!) so I may have gaps in my understanding, and some of this is theoretical(I haven't tested every pet/proc combination)

Before we discuss procs, it's useful to discuss damage on pets in general. From https://paragonwiki.com/wiki/Purple_Patch we can see that our pets have the following damage modifiers at +0/+4:

Pet +0 +4
Minions 0.80 0.15(!)
Lieutenants 0.90 0.30
Bosses 1.0 0.48

Pet damage varies wildly depending on the primary, and I haven't really done a thorough "dps" analysis, but this sheet helps with some ballpark numbers - https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/19VuZ9zJ_8eKN11JytgaK9mt9Fy-8pjANopb-FGh68Uw/edit#gid=537542171 Unfortunately, that sheet doesn't take the purple patch into consideration, which varies pet dps even more.

As you can see(or maybe not, that sheet took me a while to understand  ;D), most minions do 10-20 dps per pet - battle drones being the low end and genin the high end. Unfortunately these numbers don't have purple patch scaling applied to them. Also, take these "dps" numbers with a grain of salt, and only as a comparison between MM pets.

Here's some quick numbers on what you can expect at +0/+4 :

- 15 avg "base dps" per minion - 12 at +0, 2.25 at +4 (!!)

- 25 avg "base dps" per lt - 22.5 at +0, 7.5 at +4

- 35 avg "base dps" per boss - 35 at +0, 16.8 at +4 (this one has the highest variance, so YMMV)

You can see how your minions are worth less and less at higher +x, and your lts and boss contribute most of the damage. This is unfortunate for necro for example, which has the lowest dps boss(10), and mercs, which have a low dps boss AND low dps lts.

Now, onto procs, a quick primer: