That is Why You Fail

Gavric

A response to Ticket 20432, giving detail to my criticisms.

First, it's important to recognize a few things.

I never played CoH when it was a supported, retail game.  I am unfamiliar with the game as it was, and am making all commentary from the perspective of someone who experiences it as new.  I have a very dear friend who has expressed some of the differences, but it is possible I do not know the difference between Homecoming changes and the original game.  The changes implemented since I started playing are what I know to be different.

I do not know or understand the hierarchy and roles of the development team (including GM's).  I'm sure I could rectify this rather easily, but I haven't had the desire to do so.  I don't know who is in charge of what, or what's involved--labor-wise--in what the Homecoming team does.

CoH is a 50%/50% proposition at best.  The original developers were mad geniuses that implemented some amazing things and insanely stupid things.  They seem to have been highly gifted and clueless.  Had I experienced the game while it was retail, I would have quit playing.  It's not worth a premium subscription rate.

The Homecoming team is doing something amazing that should be celebrated.  They have revived a dead game that was beloved by millions!  From what I have read, the only reason this game died was corporate greed.  It was profitable, when they pulled the plug.  It just wasn't making the millions of dollars that MOBA's were.  Now the game is reverse-engineered, running legally, and the millions of fans can enjoy it again.  The Homecoming team keeps it running smoothly, even though they don't have the backing of a large corporation and the resources to staff employees to do so.

I recognize their hard work.  I have enjoyed playing this game.  They deserve applause and adulation.