The Problem with Pool Powers

JusticeBowler

I was originally going to ask this question, but I decided instead to investigate it myself and then report in instead. I'm not an expert in these things, but offer intel that other people could correct seemed more constructive than just asking the question:

Should anyone ever take a pool power attack? And if so, which one(s)? My answer is currently no, but with a caveat.

MB4WVQF.png

This is a simple sheet comparing Energy Blaster basic attack numbers with Pool Power Attacks. Then three different Controller basic attacks with a representative list of Pool Power Attacks at Controller damage levels. The base damage per click doesn't matter much, though it doesn't really change anything to look at it.

Over time or endurance, pool powers are crippled. These base power set attacks are lowest possible competitors for a power selection and enhancement slots. There's just zero reason to ever take a pool power. If they were 85% of the pool powers, maybe, but 65%?

For a Controller, someone might argue they get a bit of and END improvement and Recovery being a per-second thing and the longer animations on some of the power pool attacks might mean that you are better off clicking a pool power if your endurance is crashing. But you'll lose both DPS (aka the mob will still take longer to die) and you lose the secondary effects of your control attacks. That argument also fails to account for Controller's base powers having improved ACC as well (90% compared to 75%) which again, devistates the pool power DPS numbers further if put into the equation.

CAVEAT