How to avoid dying 90% of the time

Diantane

I've been playing computer games since the Apple II was released in 1977. So I have a lot of experience playing RPG games (over 45 years - currently 68). I've practiced not dying in every game I've played.

In COH there are several ways:

1) if you are a ranged fighter or support, distance is your friend. If a foe tries to get within melee range of you, simply back away from them or move to a different part of the room. Hovering is better if there is room above you. Plus hover adds to your defense.

2) If you are a melee fighter, keep an eye on your health. If it gets below 50% and you don't have a heal or resprite, move away from the area to rest.

3) If most of the team dies and the rest of the foes are after you, go into an elevator or out the exit. Wait a second and then you can come back in as they will be running back to their spawn point.

4) Don't just fight until you die. You can't do any DPS if you are dead, but will do a lot more if you are still alive.

5) In combat, I rarely stay in one place. I constantly move so the enemy can't get a fix on me.

6) Buy resprites from the nurse for those "Oh crap" moments. When you take them in that emergency, leave the area and fully rest before beginning again

• Thanks 2
  • Haha 3

Decent advice for those who use your style of play.  I find flexibility in play style is usually needed, especially with PUGs.  I try to get an idea of the builds of my teammates with a info check.  Different when you play with people you know as well.  Voice chat can help there.

And some of those work for some of my characters.

Unless it's a run where defeats aren't allowed:

4)  That's why you slot up Rise of the Phoenix.   You're never more dangerous than when you're dead. 😄