I want to make a "melee" sentinel, need help 🙏

Hitback

I tired of turning my ranged toons into hover blasters, I want to make a sentinel that stays in the middle of the mob and shoots bad guys in the face.

I would like some help picking powersets. I was thinking maybe SR secondary (and popping an orange here and then) or Rad (if I'm in the middle of the mob, I might as well throw in a second nuke), but really I'm open to suggestions. Just something that let's me stay alive in melee range.

But my real issue is the primaries. It's pure personal preference, but I don't like the feeling of flinging fireballs in melee range. The only primaries that feel good for that reason are the weapon-based ones, and Ele (somehow beams feel better than projectiles). 

I avoided weapon-based ranged sets before the redraw changes, so I have no experience with them, but I've heard that DP and AR got buffs. So between DP/AR/BR and Ele, could you tell me what to expect? 

The best powerset for a melee Sentinel is called "Scrapper."

• Like 4
  • Haha 1
  • Thumbs Up 7
  • Microphone 1

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed, the hands acquire posts, the posts become warning points. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."

Being constantly offended doesn't mean you're right, it means you're too narcissistic to tolerate opinions different than your own.

DP can work fine as a melee-oriented blast set. Assault Rifle tends to favor range because it has so many cones in it. Beam doesn't have much reason to melee but it can if you want I guess. Electric rewards melee due to Short Circuit so that's another viable candidate here. 

One that you didn't mention is Radiation Blast. It comes with 2 PBAOE attacks, making it the most "blappy" ranged set available. 

• Thanks 1

Closed Beta Discord Invite: https://discord.gg/DptUBzh

20 minutes ago, PeregrineFalcon said: