The cycle ending, and beginning again...?

Black Talon

The article linked below details a number of problems that World of Warcraft has, is, and will probably continue to experience over the foreseeable future.  I won't repeat too many of the details contained therein, leaving that up to individual readers to divine, but the fact of the matter is that the anticipated mass departure from WoW might, just might, end up having some effect on City of Heroes Homecoming.

https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-58017429?utm_source=pocket-newtab

As I've noted in a number of previous posts, I have little to no experience in MMPOGs aside from City of Heroes; as Pixie_Knight has articulated, very clearly, the fantasy games seem to experience a plague of repetitive character classes, settings and storylines, and any such experience I want to have, I'll drag out the Castles & Crusades or first-edition AD&D Core books and have a blast doing the pen-and-paper-with-dice bit.  I don't know, to what extent, WoW may or may not have either played off previous tropes, created new ones - or both - in the online setting, but the point is that WoW ain't a unique experience now, if it ever was; the revelations about Final Fantasy XIV's phoenix-like rebirth following a disastrous debut indicate that many are migrating toward that online RPG for their sword-and-sorcery entertainment.