Non-melee ATs that can afford to have mobs in melee range

Prof Evbof

I am relatively new to CoH, but have played mmorpgs for awhile. I almost always play a melee toon. Mostly  because I cannot kite. So I am wondering what other ATs in this game can work without kiting. I prioritize survivability, but I don't mind toons that kill really, really fast and I don;t mind toons that stun and knock mobs away (the animation to get up is a time span where they aren't attacking).

Note that I solo most of the time.
I know that Sentinels have the same defense secondary sets as brutes, so that is something I need more insight on.
I also know that several Blaster secondaries are designed to dish out damage at melee range in addition to ranged primary attacks such that you literally deal damage as fast as you can press the whole bunch of buttons. Again I would like more insight.
I have dabbled with Mastermind, letting my pets blast or pound away at mobs close to me, I don't mind using the GoTo command to concentrate my pets on my spot. I could use more insight here as well.

Lastly I know that SoA and Widow can be tailored for melee.
I have absolutely no clue on Corrupter, Defender, Controller, or Dominator. Which of these can keep mobs off me?
I dabbled with the Speed Pool power Whirlwind, but I would prefer more insight on the ATs from a primary/secondary POV.

Oh boy.

Fans of every AT will tell you that anything can be made strong enough to stand in a mob.

🙂
Prepare to be amazed with stories of people pushing tanks out of the way on 4x8 ITFs, and soloing Hami

In all seriousness, you can build out any AT to do anything you want. 

Edited by Ghost
  • Like 4
  • Haha 1

3 minutes ago, Prof Evbof said:

I know that Sentinels have the same defense secondary sets as brutes, so that is something I need more insight on.